Teaching…

As I prepare to leave Colorado, drive to Michigan, pack up the U-Haul, drive to Boston, move into a new apartment in a new city, and do lots of big-girl things, I realize that I’ve gotten caught up in the logistics of this move and the fact that in a few weeks I’ll be teaching three senior English classes and one junior one hasn’t really sunken in at all.

Here’s a list of everything we’ll be reading this year:

Seniors:

Our Town, Thornton Wilder

Hamlet

Romeo and Juliet

Great Expectations, Charles Dickens (good thing I spent the last year reading Chesterton on Dickens!)

Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe

Poetry of Seamus Heaney, T.S. Eliot, and John Keats (interesting trio and this will be an interesting month)

Tess of the D’Urbervilles, Thomas Hardy

Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald

Juniors:

Atlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand (I’ve avoided this book like the plague since college, and now I’m slogging through it without much enjoyment.  And I’m and English major!)

Oedipus Rex, Sophocles

The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin (kind of an abrupt jump here in almost every sense)

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, Alexander Solzhenitsyn

The Stranger / L’Étranger, Albert Camus (oddly enough I’ve read everything but The Stranger)

A Doll’s House, Henrik Ibsen

Hamlet

Macbeth

Any comments and suggestions about how to present and study these books would be helpful.  It’s going to be a growing year, but I honestly can’t think of anything I’d rather be doing at this point in my life.  This seems to portend good things.

5 thoughts on “Teaching…

  1. My favorite Eliot poetry is Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats… but I’m guessing you’ll be more on “The Waste Land” wavelength 😉
    I too have avoided Atlas Shrugged. ew.
    I am so excited for you as you start on this new adventure!!!!

Leave a Reply

