“That, I think, is indubitable.”

Title is from Atlas Shrugged. By that I mean, I opened up the book, and pointed to a sentence on a page (a wise method of choosing titles for things, learnt from Dr. Jackson)  It works 99% of the time.  Except when you don’t have a clear topic in mind.

Major thanks to my mother and father for many dinners out, hard work, and darling gifts!  For a few days, I was utterly pampered and cosseted.  Pictures of the apt forthcoming!

And the first week is done!  It was hard, and exhausting, and I guess the weekend is over, or will be in 1 hour and 33 minutes.  Oh dear.  Somehow I never get as much done as I meant.  Of course I have long lived by the old adage “it always gets done.”  And it always does.

Today we went to church here: http://www.theadvent.org/  It was beautiful and smelly (they used incense during the service).  I will very likely go back again if only because it allows me to walk around streets like these: a

And eat at places like this one:

Brunch was huevos rancheros (yes, I used to be a picky eater, and now I eat black beans, guacamole, eggs, salsa, and sour cream all in a yummy heap!) and dessert was a surprisingly green pistachio muffin (on the outside it was golden brown but on the inside it was this odd green color that seems so unnatural).

I also took the mbta for the first time.  I relish the fact that I live on the Orange Line.  Also, it took less than half an hour to get downtown, and I didn’t feel on the verge of tears because of mean Boston drivers once.  I think that this means that public transportation will become my mode of exploring Boston from this point forward.

Monday is an 1 hour 22 minutes away, and I’m still planning Atlas Shrugged lessons.  Any ideas?

2 thoughts on ““That, I think, is indubitable.”

  1. “Gustav Schmoller would accept women students, whereas Treitschke would not; Langlois was known for teaching women students, but would assign them only ‘women’s topics’ to research.”

    I did the same thing with my own reading.

    As for the Church of the Advent, boo hiss. The last Anglican church I visited here involved seven people over the age of 65 in a Masonic Hall.

Leave a Reply

