Let it be…

You might think I’m quoting Lennon.  But you’d be wrong.  It’s Hamlet.  Consequently, it’s the subject of tomorrow’s class.  Hamlet has gone from “to be or not to be” (3.1) to the affirmation “let it be” (5.2).  I finish my first unit tomorrow, and I’m happy to be moving on to poetry.  But Shakespeare is Shakespeare, and even though Hamlet isn’t my favorite play it was still a privilege to be doing what so many have done before.

My Sunday routine becomes more and more set.  Usually I go to church (didn’t today because of a migraine) and then I cook something slow and bountiful for dinner and for the week ahead.  Today was ratatouille day.  I charred red bell peppers over the open flame.  I broiled tomatoes.  I roasted zucchini and eggplant.  And now it’s all in the same pot looking for all the world like sludge. But, oh, is it good…this will be eaten with a fried egg on top for dinner with a hunk of baguette and the remainder of my tomme de savoie cheese.  Tomorrow I’ll probably eat it cold for lunch with a hard-boiled egg.  It will probably get tossed with pasta and parmesan.  I started making ratatouille because of the movie, but I continue to make it because it’s chock full of vegetables and I actually like it (still a picky eater on many counts).

Yesterday was spent exploring Boston with Ian and Matt.  We spent some time touring the Harpoon Brewery (got free tasting glasses and lots of free beer), and then we walked to the Boston Commons.  It was a gorgeous, unseasonably warm day (we were all hot, sweaty, and parched).  There were four different wedding parties being photographed, and I introduced the boys to the sport of judging wedding gowns, bridesmaids gowns, flowers, etc.  They feebly entered into the spirit of things with a few weak criticisms.

The march was not over.  We continued through Boston, stumbling onto rows and rows of brick homes.  It would cost about $3-4,000/month to live there, but one can always dream.  Also, there were so many restaurants.  We still were not deterred from our mission (which we didn’t know existed until we stumbled upon it).

And we ended up at this bookstore:

Inside it is lovely, warm, welcoming.  They have an excellent selection of used books, without overwhelming the browser with a superfluity of editions and copies.  I picked up a bio of T.S. Eliot, John Keats, Keats’ letters, a selection of Rainier Maria Rilke’s poems, and a book on Romanticism.  Most of those books will be used for my lectures.  That’s how I justify it anyways.  I will definitely be returning.

Also, we managed to ride every line on the mbta.  That’s five different lines.  No small feat.

Rapid Transit w Key Bus

And now it’s time to grade 45 memorizations (20 lines), 75 vocab quizzes, and one overachiever’s first draft of a paper.  And eat ratatouille.

Leave a Reply

