“Finally shall come the poet”

This title is an allusion to Whitman’s “Passage to India.”  I don’t really like poetry, but I like Whitman.  Finally Comes the Poet is also the title of a book on its way to me from amazon.  It’s a book about the role of the preacher/pastor/priest as a kind of poet to the people.  Not having preached many sermons in my life (any at all) I do feel that sometimes the literary beauty and truth of the Gospel gets overlooked for sports analogies and self-help strategies.  But that is another post for a different sort of blog.  Needless to say, it should be a good book.

I joined a book club.  Austen in Boston.  Yes.  That’s right.  It’s a Jane Austen book club.  But she has long been my favorite author, and despite the endless bad film interpretations of her work and the ridiculous amount of over-romanticizing that her works seem to induce, at least I know that I will always enjoy the books we read (unless they’re horrendous and scandalous attempts at sequels or prequels).

As for the rest of my resolutions…well, that’s what the rest of the year is for, right?

5 thoughts on ““Finally shall come the poet”

  1. Poetry is so amazing! I had a person in Church in Ireland read John Donne I thought of you because you were the one who introduced me to him. I hate how lots of ignorant people calls Austen the queen of Chick flicks. It makes me so annoyed and I feel like she would not be very pleased seeing how she made fun of all the gothic romance novels!

  2. Finally Comes the Poet is a fantastic book. I read it this past fall. This is Andrea (Childs) from Hillsdale long ago. I found your blog through Mark’s blog and this post title caught my eye. It’s not often people mention Brueggemann in their writing or reading 🙂 I hope you enjoy the book!

    1. I’ve really enjoyed it, actually. I’ve long been a reader of Frederick Buechner, and amazon suggested this book since I like Buechner. Have you read any of Brueggemann’s other books? I’m always looking for recommendations.

  3. I’ve read portions of several of his books and many articles. He’s written a lot of articles on biblical lament and lament in the psalms that are really good. I absolutely LOVE his book of prayers “Awed to Heaven, Rooted in Earth.” Also, I’m currently reading “The Covenanted Self: Explorations in Law and Covenant” and while I’m not far, it’s very good. He has a unique and provocative way with words.

Leave a Reply

