Rug

I tend to fall for things hard. This may be something in the Kjergaard/Berg genetic makeup. I see it in my littlest sister too. Don’t get her started on Band of Brothers. Or C.S. Forester’s Horatio Hornblower series. Or the new BBC Sherlock Holmes adaptation.

This summer, before I’d even found my apartment I was browsing the Paris Street Market (if you live in Denver it’s a wonderful market open the first Saturday of the months May-Oct.). While shopping I saw a rug. I slowly walked away, but found myself drawn back to the booth. It was navy blue and orange. It was a hooked rug. Heavily floral, it looked like something you might find in Victorian England. I had to have it. I was with my friend Audree, who liked the rug and told me to buy it. My mom was also around, but not with me. I frantically called her, telling her I needed her opinion! As I was on the phone, my back half-turned to the rug, another customer swooped in. I hung up the phone, ran to the proprietor, and offered asking price for the rug.

Here’s the thing about navy blue: it shows crumbs like you wouldn’t believe. I look down at my rug and it’s as if I were looking up into a dark blue sky filled with little stars. Only it’s tiny pieces of debris littering my rug.

Here’s the thing about hooked rugs: they can’t really be vacuumed. Crumbs get embedded into the deep pile of the rug as if they were taking root and planning to be fruitful and multiply (it does seem like they multiply). My current method for cleaning involves crawling on my rug on my hands and knees. With my right hand, I feverishly rub the rug try to loosen the crumbs and hair (it’s a wonder I’m not bald). With my left hand, I wield the handheld part of my vacuum, painstakingly scraping it across the carpet. This rug is probably 3.5 x 7. It takes me over half an hour to get it looking halfway presentable.

Moral of the story…don’t get attached to things too quickly? Don’t eat in the living room? Wear a hair net around the house?

If my family comes down to visit over the holidays I will try not to be like Rabbit, a character from one of my favorite books. Rabbit has a beautiful new rug. It is so beautiful and so clean that no one is allowed to walk on it. Eventually, he comes to his senses and realizes that people (or animals) are more important.

One thought on “Rug

Leave a Reply

