How to have a snow day.

It takes a lot of hard work and dedication to really have a good snow day. Here’s what I usually do:

Step 1: As reports of the weather grow more and more ominous, children will start to grow more and more hopeful. Squelch their hopes. Say things like, “We’ll only get a dusting” or “We’ve just been burned before.” Make sure that they believe that you like nothing better than being at school with them, and, for you, a snow day would represent the greatest tribulation to be borne. At some point in the day, they will actually start to think that you control the weather, and that if only mean Ms. Kjergaard would agree to it, we’d all be treated to a snow day. Go along with this. At 3:15 they will be pleading with sad Bambi eyes, but you must not relent. Tell them you will see them tomorrow.

Step 2: Go home, make dinner, and ignore prepping and grading for the next day. You’re going to have a snow day, of course. Prepare yourself for a rough night. By 8 pm you must start checking weather.com, the school district website, the school website, and a local tv station’s list of closures. These sites must be checked on the hour through the night. When at 5 am, you groggily realize that you do have a snow day the real fun begins.

Step 3: Snow days call for hearty breakfasts. There is a day of doing nothing ahead of you. I started the day off with sour cream pancakes topped with some warm fruit compote.

Step 4: Pick out your snow day outfit. You’re not going outside any time soon, but pajamas all day is just too much. Turtle necks and wool sweaters that make you look like a fat eight year old are usually the most appropriate.

Step 5: Settle in with your reading material. This is pretty important. Today is not the day to read that New Yorker that you bought to look smart. Today is not the day to read that really long book about the French Revolution for school. Today you read solely for pleasure. Yesterday I hunkered down with a stack of Agatha Christie books. First I read her memoir of life on her husband’s dig On the Syrian/Iraqi border. Daydream about taking a train from Calais to Iraq. Next I read her autobiography. To wrap it up, I read my favorite They Came to Baghdad.

Step 6: Make your own hot chocolate. I shaved down a dark chocolate bar a student gave me for Christmas into some hot milk, and it was pretty delectable.

Step 7: Having diligently read your favorite books for the greater part of the day, it’s perfectly fine to unwind with a little tv and crafting. Thankfully yesterday was Friday which meant that NBC Thursday shows were up on hulu.

I went to bed contented at having done absolutely nothing (although I did wash a lot of dishes and hang up some clothes). I also wondered if I would ever have a snow day that was a true snow day. Because of where I live (downtown CO Springs), I never get much snow. I would say that the streets and sidewalks were dry by noon. And most of the snow we got yesterday is gone now.

5 thoughts on “How to have a snow day.

  1. In grad school, 5 out of 7 of my days are like this… you might want to consider it. Thanks for sharing your word-talent!

  2. REALLY good advice! I wish I had this info last year when we had an unprecedented 4 snow days in a row (Super Bowl Week).

  3. I am so bitter that the eastern half of the country is having the most mild winter ever. I am almost — dare I say it? — missing winter and those long cold runs on the ice.
    ~Hannah

    1. I routinely tell my students when we have recess indoors that they are a bunch of wimps, and they don’t know real fun until they’ve run in sub-zero temps before the sun has risen while looking at bleak fields and decomposing deer. We will never be that tough again.

Leave a Reply

