Happy New Year!

I like to think of these four as the classroom crime-fighting Fantastic Four. I irreligiously also refer to them as the demigods.
I like to think of these four as the classroom crime-fighting Fantastic Four. I irreligiously also refer to them as the demigods.

It is New Year’s Eve for teachers everywhere. As has become my habit, I treat the beginning of the school year as the new year, rather than January 1. What better way to end a year than with a glorious, long summer? And what better way to start a new year than crisp, new school supplies and new faces?

Here are my resolutions:

1) Declutter my apartment. As I sit on my couch, I can see myriad useless items. Yarn that I never got around to using collects dust in a basket capable of holding one project at a time. Magazine that I perused languish in a pile. Time to clean up! To contribute to my new clean minimalist lifestyle I bought many perfect wooden scrub brushes at Crate and Barrel yesterday. I will probably never be a minimalist.

2) Create a gallery wall in the classroom. Done and done! I put this on so I could check it off. The result is stunning and perhaps troubling for those of the ADHD tendencies. Although truly, if you’re going to be distracted, it might as well be with pithy phrases and classical art.

Yes it is amazing, and it goes all the way up to the 15 ft ceiling.
Yes it is amazing, and it goes all the way up to the 15 ft ceiling.

3) Adopt 5th grade. Our 5th grade team is entirely new this year. In an effort to create a greater community and a 3rd floor alliance, we’ve decided to befriend the 5th grade teachers. Mostly by feeding them…

4) Yoga 3x per week. One year we were yogis extraordinaires. Then we petered out last year. No more! More yoga and no excuses!

5) Make my bed. This is probably the hardest one. I have a full bed, which for some people means more space. For me it means that I have a whole 3/4 of the bed to fill with a baby blanket I’m knitting, 8 books I’m reading, that sweatshirt I wore last week that doesn’t have a home, and a Good and Plenty or two. Note: I should probably resolve to stop snacking in bed. Anyways, I end up sleeping huddled on one side with my junk overtaking the rest of the bed. Making it is nigh on impossible! I already feel that this will be the resolution I will not keep, but nothing ventured nothing gained.

6) “Everything is awesome.” Our mantra last year was “Let it go.” This year we’re going with “Everything is awesome.” Yes, it’s incredibly cheesy, and no, it’s not always true. However, I know that gratitude is a habit. Saying “everything is awesome” reminds me that I teach in a school that grants me quite a bit of autonomy. I get to work with people I adore. I teach students who are funny and wise and tender all in the same day. I caught myself griping about some new duty last weekend, and I snapped myself out of it by remembering that there are many places in the world and even our own country where education is an impossibility. For me this year, everything is awesome.

Everything is awesome...when you're part of a team!"
Everything is awesome…when you’re part of a team!”
2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

