Advent reading

Sometimes more is more. And sometimes less is more. I have a whole stack of books I’m reading and rereading this Advent season. I’m working my way through Isaiah, and Auden’s For the Time Being, and Bonhoeffer’s God Is in the Manger. And they’re all good and meaningful and wonderful.

But today I received my friend Jenny’s card in the mail. Jenny has a genius for choosing her words wisely. She is one of the few people who truly thinks before she speaks. And these four verses just say it all. Here’s the photo I snapped (and isn’t her handwriting just lovely?):

IMG_2011

And here are the verses with the citations:

“Oh that you would rend the heavens and come down!” (Is. 64:1).

“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son of the Father, full of grace and truth” (John 1:14).

“For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross” (Col. 1:19-20).

“He will be our peace…For he himself is our peace” (Micah 5:5, Eph. 2:14).

I have read all of these verses before, but today it was as though I was reading them for the first time. And to reread something with new eyes is a gift. Thank you, Jenny.

 

2 thoughts on “Advent reading

Leave a Reply

