New Year

Because a snowy landscape is the ultimate blank slate...
Because a snowy landscape is the ultimate blank slate…

Everyone else made awesome new year’s resolutions or picked a cool word or started a new diet or fitness regimen. And I didn’t. I did do a juice cleanse, but only because I’d eaten a steady diet of all the McDonald’s on the I-70 corridor for 4 days straight. And Culver’s and Sonic. Not pretty. I thought about doing Whole 30 because Hannah sent me her meal plan and grocery list. It would have been so easy except for giving up legumes, sugar, dairy, and grains for 30 days. I started strong, but then Gail brought 7 layer bars in for a treat, and I gave that up.

Here’s my manageable list:

1) Try grating fresh nutmeg with a nutmeg grater. In recipes I make they’re always calling for freshly grated nutmeg. I grab the ol’ McCormick’s from my cupboard and wonder how long I’ve had this bottle. Since college perhaps? This is the year that I will know if it’s really all that great. I have the grater in my amazon basket, so I’m almost there.

2) Get a library card. As Arthur the Aardvark rapped once, “Having fun / isn’t hard / when you’ve got a library card.” I have one to Arapahoe County up in the Denver Metro area. That is great, but I live in Colorado Springs. And I love the library. I’m not sure if I’m afraid of the excessive paperwork, new fines wracking up, or librarians (they can be so mean and not helpful), but it has not happened in the 3 1/2 years I’ve lived here. That ends in 2015. Maybe.

3) Do a headstand. As we often tell our fat dog Guthrie who is jumping impaired, “If you dream it, you can achieve it.” I believe. I also am making friends and family spot me until this works out.

Resolutely on the floor...because jumping is for dogs with less junk in their trunk...
Resolutely on the floor…because jumping is for dogs with less junk in their trunk…

4) Get rid of many clothes. I in no way aspire to be a minimalist. I am in awe when people write about having three t-shirts and one perfect pair of jeans. I know at times that I have definitely over-shopped. Having too many clothes is not good. But I’m not sure if minimalism doesn’t hit the opposite extreme. Being obsessive about having less (which is always way more expensive somehow) seems wrong as well. So I’m aiming for a balance. I want my closet to look happy and maybe a little chubby, but maybe it shouldn’t bring a ruthless gleam to the organizer’s eye. I sent a picture to Hannah, who responded with “It’s like a siren call to me. I want at it!!!”

Too ashamed to post a picture of my closet. So here's a selfie. Yes, I wore red lipstick to help cope with the closet culling. I'm keeping the orange sweater, even though it's been 2 years since I've worn it.
Too ashamed to post a picture of my closet. So here’s a selfie. Yes, I wore red lipstick to help cope with the closet culling. I’m keeping the orange sweater, even though it’s been 2 years since I’ve worn it.

Happy New Year and almost Valentine’s Day!

3 thoughts on “New Year

  1. I realllllllyyyyyy want to come visit and purge your closet. I can also help spot the handstand. But totally stick with the powdered nutmeg. Way easier.

Leave a Reply

