Loveliest of trees

The white way of delight...
The white way of delight…

Today I taught 90 or so 6th graders how a steam engine works. I didn’t really know how a steam engine worked until earlier this morning. And actually, I mostly just asked a few leading questions and let the geniuses do the work.That would be my teaching at its finest.

But yesterday I was sauntering (actually hobbling a bit, thanks to blisters) along the Mall in Washington, D.C. I spent a few hours in the National Gallery of Art with senior citizens and elementary students. But the real reason I was in DC was to see Hannah (and James). And of course, we ran the Cherry Blossom 10 miler.

Being with Hannah means pictures. Thank you, James.
Being with Hannah means pictures. Thank you, James.

Our running partnership (or running mentor/mentee) relationship goes way back. But we’ve never run a race together. So at long last, we checked that off the bucket list.

I’m still grinning thinking about the weekend. From the minute I got into their car until I left yesterday afternoon I was spoiled. I laughed harder than I’ve laughed in a while. I ate the best food. I was given the book review section of Wall Street Journal. And we watched 30 Rock. This is the good part of adulthood. A ticket takes you to people you love.

It is in no way merited, but after the years these people are still in my life. And I’m so glad. All that time in college talking and studying and eating cafeteria food and stealing cafeteria food and so many little traditions and jokes have enriched our friendship now. I have never had as much time to invest in relationships as I did in college. And I was unconscious of the fact that that’s what I was doing. Life seemed so busy. Responsibilities seemed unending. In the end, I read a lot of good books, I thought about those books, I wrote quite a bit too. But my friends may have been the greatest gift that Hillsdale gave to me.

Love the light. Love Hannah. And love James because he too got up early, toted all our stuff, and came up with the cheer "Run for brunch. Run for glory."
Love the light. Love Hannah. And love James because he too got up early, toted all our stuff, and came up with the cheer “Run for brunch. Run for glory.”
One thought on “Loveliest of trees

  1. COME BACK ALREADY. This is perfect, as was our weekend. And I’m really glad the book section of the WSJ made it in there, because it was kind of a structuring element of your weekend.

Leave a Reply

