Work Uniform Part II

Clearly, a fashion blogger I should not be. But I did try the uniform thing for a week. This also coincided with Whole 30, so monotony reigned supreme for a week. Don’t worry. I have a whole post cooked up on Whole 30. Basically, I haven’t stopped bingeing on everything that was verboten.

Monday - Crazy pattern pants.
Monday – Crazy pattern pants.

At first, this seemed doable for the long-run. I like cardigans a lot. And pants are quite comfortable.

This was taken approximately 5 seconds before I spilled coffee on my left leg.
This was taken approximately 5 seconds before I spilled coffee on my left leg.

Color combinations seemed endless. And I could spice things up with hair and jewelry. I don’t know if you’ve noticed but my hair is the same in all of these pictures. And I basically am obsessed with my sporty wrist watch because there is nothing more satisfying than knowing what time it is all the time!

And these pants have a permanent grease spot that I pretend doesn't exist because they are so soft and so versatile.
And these pants have a permanent grease spot that I pretend doesn’t exist because they are so soft and so versatile.

Sadly, no one noticed that I was wearing the same outfit (more or less) everyday. This either means that my regular wardrobe is way more monotonous than I thought it was, or I teach incredibly unobservant students. Both are probably true. Also, they wear uniforms, so I think they’re pretty used to things looking the same day in day out.

Slightly high-waisted. Super uncomfortable. But $10 at Target, so of course I got them.
Slightly high-waisted. Super uncomfortable. But $10 at Target, so of course I got them.

I lost a lot of good white t-shirts to this experiment. I only do laundry every six weeks, so using most of my white t-shirts in a week was rough. Of course if I hadn’t spilled I would have just folded them back up, but of course when you wear a white t-shirt everyday you spill everyday.

Nothing says wannabe mom like the denim shirt over the white t-shirt.
Nothing says wannabe mom like the denim shirt over the white t-shirt.

I would try this again with a slightly different outfit. Or maybe I would literally wear the same thing everyday. It was freeing but boring. I hate the mornings when I feel like nothing fits or looks cute, but most days I really enjoy the freedom of picking something bright and cheerful or grim and menacing. Since I have very little interest in doing my hair or makeup and jewelry is usually an afterthought, my clothes are really how I express my personality most days. Shallow that may be, but it’s the truth, and as long as it doesn’t become too time-consuming I think I’ll still shuffle to the living room closet and flick through my options hoping that someday it will be warm enough to wear a dress with bare legs. Did you hear that, CO? The rain has got to stop!

Leave a Reply

