San Diego to Vancouver

Back in January or February, Jenny proposed a road trip. We would start in San Diego and end in Seattle. She had a number of college fairs to attend along the West Coast, and rather than flying like all the sane admissions counselors, she thought of me and my love of mooching and road trips and made her proposal.

The trip was a blast. I hope that you all have a friend that you never run out of things to talk about with (there’s so much wrong with that grammatically, but, oh well) and with whom you can sit in perfect non-awkward silence. We listened to all of Serial (I firmly believe that Adnan is guilty, but Jenny had some pretty solid theories for his innocence), Go Set a Watchman (heresy to say we like it better than To Kill a Mockingbird?), and The Girl on the Train (I wanted to keep driving so that we could listen to more and more of the story).

I met Jenny 10 years ago, almost to the day. She was my freshman RA. She had long, curly hair and she knew the ropes of the big HC. She also led my freshman Bible study, and we memorized so much scripture (all of 1st Peter, I think). We became close friends, eventually roommates in the tiniest, coldest room. She has helped me move across country. We have been bridesmaids together. She moved to CO just so this friendship could continue indefinitely!

Anyways, the trip was a blast, mostly because I was on it with Jenny. Oh, and we saw some pretty amazing sights. Here come the pictures!

San Diego...Day 1. Perfect
San Diego…Day 1. Perfect
Getting to the Getty before closing was a little intense but worth it, if only for the Louis XV furniture gallery. And the gardens.
Getting to the Getty before closing was a little intense but worth it, if only for the Louis XV furniture gallery. And the gardens.
We hiked to the back of the Hollywood signs. Bucket list item checked (that wasn't really on my bucket list)!
We hiked to the back of the Hollywood signs. Bucket list item checked (that wasn’t really on my bucket list)!
And know the real reason for our trip becomes clear: the appreciation of the bridges of the West Coast. This was in Venice Beach.
And know the real reason for our trip becomes clear: the appreciation of the bridges of the West Coast. This was in Venice Beach.
Big Sur. Breathtaking.
Big Sur. Breathtaking.
San Francisco...off a pier, just hanging out with a ton of old Asian men who were fishing (not pictured).
San Francisco…off a pier, just hanging out with a ton of old Asian men who were fishing (not pictured).
And of course, the Golden Gate Bridge. But why "Golden"? Should I know this?
And of course, the Golden Gate Bridge. But why “Golden”? Should I know this?
Sunrise somewhere in northern CA. I'm probably also crying because we were just finishing Go Set a Watchman.
Sunrise somewhere in northern CA. I’m probably also crying because we were just finishing Go Set a Watchman.
We got on the road by 4 a.m. to get from San Fran to Portland. We stopped in Newport, OR. This was a little path that led to a beach.
We got on the road by 4 a.m. to get from San Fran to Portland. We stopped in Newport, OR. This was a little path that led to a beach.
This beach blew me away. It was hidden by these grassy dunes. We climbed up, barefoot and sleep-deprived and got smacked in the face by the most beautiful beach.
This beach blew me away. It was hidden by these grassy dunes. We climbed up, barefoot and sleep-deprived and got smacked in the face by the most beautiful beach.
Of course a picture can't do it justice. The water was so cold. The sand was so fine and so white, and I'm over-using "so," but it was just "so."
Of course a picture can’t do it justice. The water was so cold. The sand was so fine and so white, and I’m over-using “so,” but it was just “so.”
Took a solo hike through the underbelly of Portland to get to Powell's which did not disappoint. And of course...more bridges.
Took a solo hike through the underbelly of Portland to get to Powell’s which did not disappoint. And of course…more bridges.
Rainforest on my birthday. It  was magical, and the photos didn't turn out at all.
Rainforest on my birthday. It was magical, and the photos didn’t turn out at all.
I do not take a good selfie, but I tried. Who can know we're in the middle of a rain forest?
I do not take a good selfie, but I tried. Who can know we’re in the middle of a rain forest?
Friendship is eating a lot of pizza and watching HGTV in Vancouver, BC because after schlepping all over the city downtime is needed.
Friendship is eating a lot of pizza and watching HGTV in Vancouver, BC because after schlepping all over the city downtime is needed.
We got ice cream twice in the same 24 hours. Trendy for sure, but they backed up the reclaimed wood and subway tiles with some solid flavor choices.
We got ice cream twice in the same 24 hours. Trendy for sure, but they backed up the reclaimed wood and subway tiles with some solid flavor choices.
One thought on “San Diego to Vancouver

  1. I mean, I’m pretty sure that I could have happily read a post per day of this amazing trip, but I guess that this was a solid round up. I loved following your trip in the grams!!! You two are just my favorites.

Leave a Reply

