Oops!

I am just hoping that by next year I'll have the teacher frown down pat!
I am just hoping that by next year I’ll have the teacher frown down pat!

Writing this post now is a little like sending your Christmas cards out around Valentine’ Day.

This school year has started, obviously. And it’s been pretty smooth sailing so far (fingers crossed). My students are challenging enough to make things interesting but not so challenging that I start to lose sleep. I just finished Parent Teacher Conferences and feel pretty proud of both of my outfit choices for those days. (Typically I wear the least comfortable and flattering clothes I own).

Thus far the biggest challenge has been the mice. They were nesting in one of my floor to almost-ceiling cupboards. Opening the door unleashed the powerful scent of mouse urine. It took the better part of an afternoon to scrub things out. On the plus side, I was able to purge all of my predecessor’s things since they were now covered in feces and urine. I think we all know Marie Kondo would be proud.

I’ve made some big life changes here on the homefront. I floss my teeth every night. No excuses. In the past year, I’ve become a disciple of Gretchen Rubin (author of the Happiness Project). She makes the point that habits aren’t things we ever stop doing. Also, in one of her books she makes the point that if you floss every day you don’t have to hem and haw to your dentist about how you’ve been meaning to floss more, but just haven’t gotten around to it. Now I can say I floss everyday and still have horrible teeth!

I make my bed. Same reason as above. I also love the sight of the crisp white corner that I can see when I walk into my front door. It really does help me feel better both in the morning and at night.

The kitchen sink stays pretty clean. I realize these are things that other people can do without giving it a second thought, but it took effort at first. Like any new habit, once it becomes engrained the struggle is nowhere near as difficult.

As you can see, this is a life of daring and adventure over here. After years of running the same route in my neighborhood I branched out and started running in the nearby park which has a beautiful little wilderness and a tree tunnel! Unfortunately, my secret path is routinely overrun by the Colorado College cross-country team. Nothing keeps you humble like getting passed over and over by young, fast college students.

 

One thought on “Oops!

Leave a Reply

